In 2020 a review led to the establishment of a Board to replace the Governing Council and detailed changes to the governance structure to enhance guidance of our operations.

Led by our Chair, Professor Mary O’Kane AC, the Board provides clear direction to the management team, while the Research and Clinical Issues Committees provide expert advice to inform the agenda of the Board.

This structure encourages connectivity and collaboration from top to bottom to achieve our vision of transforming the way research improves patient care and public health.




Sydney Health Partners Board

Professor Mary O'Kane AC
Board Chair

Professor O'Kane has an exceptional breadth and depth of experience in innovation, research and public policy. As a computer engineer Professor O’Kane undertook pioneering work in artificial intelligence and was the Vice Chancellor of the University of Adelaide from 1996-2001. Between 2008-18 Professor O’Kane served as New South Wales’ first Chief Scientist and Engineer, during which she was instrumental in establishing the NSW Medical Devices Fund.

Mary O'Kane
  • Dr Teresa Anderson AM

    Chief Executive, Sydney Local Health District

  • Professor Carol Armour

    Executive Director, The Woolcock Institute of Medical Research

  • Professor Phil O’Connell

    Executive Director, The Westmead Institute for Medical Research

  • Cathryn Cox PSM

    Chief Executive, Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network

  • Elizabeth Koff

    Secretary, NSW Health

  • Mohit Kumar

    (Consumer Representative), Sergeant Police Prosecutor, NSW Police

  • Graeme Loy

    Chief Executive, Western Sydney Local Health District

  • Professor Don Nutbeam

    Executive Director, Sydney Health Partners

  • Professor Roger Reddel

    Director, Children’s Medical Research Institute

  • Professor Carolyn Sue AM

    Director, Kolling Institute of Medical Research

  • Professor Robyn Ward AM

    Executive Dean and Pro Vice-Chancellor, Medicine and Health

  • Deborah Willcox

    Chief Executive, Northern Sydney Local Health District

Research Committee

Professor Warwick Britton
Centenary Institute

Professor Mark Rees
University of Sydney

Professor Chris Cowell
Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network (at Westmead)

Professor Cheryl Jones
University of Sydney

Professor David Le Couteur
ANZAC Research Institute

Professor Philip O’Connell
The Westmead Institute

Professor Carolyn Sue
Kolling Institute

Associate Professor Vicki Taylor
Sydney Local Health District